Skip to the figures
LIBR8 / GazaReviewed
Explore Libr8

LIBR8 / PALESTINE / HUMANITARIAN RECORD

Gaza genocide
update.

The human toll. Before and since the ceasefire.

Last reviewedSources & reporting notes ↓
Jump to a section
01

The human toll

Reported deaths and injuries. The ceasefire figures are part of the total, not additional to it.

Palestinians reported killed

Total since October 202373,8217 Oct 2023–17 Sep 2026
Since October 2025 ceasefire1,386October 2025 ceasefire–17 Sep 2026

Reported deaths, not an estimate of all direct and indirect mortality. People remain missing under rubble.

02

Health & lasting injuries

Explosive hazards, disability and the capacity to provide care.

Explosive ordnance deaths

Total since October 2023283Oct 2023–30 Aug 2026
Since October 2025 ceasefireNot separately reportedNo comparable figure verified

Recorded ordnance incidents; do not add these deaths to the headline toll.

Explosive ordnance injuries

Total since October 20231,209Oct 2023–30 Aug 2026
Since October 2025 ceasefireNot separately reportedNo comparable figure verified

Explosive ordnance incidents

Total since October 2023625Oct 2023–30 Aug 2026
Since October 2025 ceasefireNot separately reportedNo comparable figure verified

Newly acquired disabilities

Total since October 202333,000Since Oct 2023 · reported Aug 2025
Since October 2025 ceasefire853WHO Feb–Mar 2026 report

The ceasefire figure includes 496 amputations, 186 spinal cord injuries and 171 traumatic brain injuries.

Amputations 496Spinal cord injuries 186Traumatic brain injuries 171
Breakdown of the 853 recorded cases · Feb–Mar 2026

Health facilities functioning

308 / 663

9 Sep 2026

39 fully and 269 partially functioning; 355 non-functioning.

Fully functioning 39Partially functioning 269Non-functioning 355
663 assessed health facilities
03

Medical evacuation & return

People leaving for treatment, accompanying relatives and people returning are distinct groups.

People awaiting return

115,000

04

Pregnancy, birth & newborn care

The latest available maternal indicators, with the reporting periods and denominators kept visible.

Births each day

Up to 180

UNFPA estimate · updated 11 Sep 2026

Daily volume, not a birth rate per 1,000 population or a cumulative birth tally.

Maternal and newborn deaths: what the research can tell us

Earlier cohort · October 2023–June 2024. Researchers followed records for 17,713 refugee women who were pregnant on 8 October 2023 and receiving UNRWA care. These findings do not describe current conditions across all of Gaza or the period since the October 2025 ceasefire.

Pregnancy-related deaths
168 identified · 948 per 100,000 pregnancies
Stillbirths among known outcomes
135 of 13,044 births · 10.3 per 1,000 births
Newborn deaths among known outcomes
121 of 12,909 live births · 9.4 per 1,000 live births

Pregnancy-related deaths include any cause during pregnancy or within 42 days of its end, including trauma. That measure differs from the standard maternal mortality ratio per 100,000 live births. Newborn deaths here refer to the first 28 days. Unknown outcomes and missing records limit these findings.

Maternal and neonatal outcomes · WHO Bulletin cohort study ↗
05

Hunger & malnutrition

Recent observations and projections. These are not cumulative casualty tallies.

06

Displacement & daily survival

Shelter, education, water and damage to the places people depend on.

People needing shelter assistance

1.98 million

June 2026 assessment · published Aug 2026

94% of the population; this measures assistance needs, not a cumulative displacement count.

Of the population · June 2026 assessment
07

Palestinian prisoners & detainees

Current detention counts across Palestinian territories. Comparable period arrest totals were not verified.

Palestinians held in Israeli prisons

About 9,350

Point-in-time count · start of Sep 2026

All Palestinian territories, not Gaza alone; not cumulative arrests since October 2023.

Sources & reporting notes

Latest available figures have different reporting dates. “Not separately reported” means a comparable tally was not verified, not zero. Current needs, percentages and research findings appear in their own reporting windows.

Ceasefire refers to the agreement announced on 10 October 2025. The 17 September health ministry report uses 11 October as its starting date. Its reported ceasefire totals are reproduced directly; they are not calculated by subtracting old totals from new ones.

The same report separately lists 831 bodies recovered since the ceasefire. Recovery date is not death date, so these are not presented as 831 new ceasefire deaths. Categories overlap: children, health workers, and explosive ordnance casualties must not be added to the overall death toll.

Casualty figures are attributed to the Gaza Ministry of Health; not every reported figure has been independently verified by the UN. The available recorded toll cannot capture all missing people or indirect deaths. This page does not extrapolate or automatically increment figures.

Health-service, detention and humanitarian needs figures are snapshots. Miscarriages, maternal complications, pregnancy-related mortality and neonatal mortality have different definitions and denominators. Older research is explicitly separated from current reporting.

Charts use the figures and reporting windows on their cards. Rings show the stated population or group, not a shared denominator. Bars compare counts only within the same card. Unavailable figures are not shown as zero. Categories overlap and must not be added together.

Sources are linked above where available. Download the dated figures. Corrections or newer primary sources: Libr8News@gmail.com.

Back to the figures ↑