{
  "reviewed": "2026-09-19",
  "sources": {
    "moh": [
      "Gaza health ministry figures · 17 Sep 2026",
      "https://www.gazatlm.gov.ps/en/report/85"
    ],
    "snapshot": [
      "OCHA / sector partners · 9 Sep 2026 snapshot",
      "https://www.ochaopt.org/sites/default/files/Gaza_Reported_Impact_Snapshot_9_September_2026.pdf"
    ],
    "children": [
      "UNICEF · 6 Aug 2026",
      "https://www.unicef.org/press-releases/least-300-children-reportedly-killed-gaza-past-300-days"
    ],
    "appeal": [
      "UNICEF · midyear 2026 figures",
      "https://www.unicef.org/appeals/state-of-palestine"
    ],
    "ocha4": [
      "OCHA · 4 Sep 2026 report",
      "https://www.ochaopt.org/content/humanitarian-situation-report-4-september-2026"
    ],
    "who": [
      "WHO · Feb–Mar 2026 report",
      "https://www.emro.who.int/images/stories/palestine/Sitrep_68.pdf"
    ],
    "evac": [
      "WHO spokesperson, via WAFA · 11 Aug 2026",
      "https://english.wafa.ps/Pages/Details/173502"
    ],
    "departures": [
      "Jewish Currents · 23 Oct 2024",
      "https://jewishcurrents.org/exile-from-gaza"
    ],
    "disability": [
      "State of Palestine / UN Geneva · Aug 2025",
      "https://www.ungeneva.org/en/news-media/meeting-summary/2025/08/percentage-persons-disabilities-gaza-has-increased-because"
    ],
    "return": [
      "Israeli crossing figures, via Times of Israel · 10 Sep 2026",
      "https://www.timesofisrael.com/liveblog_entry/over-10000-have-exited-gaza-since-october-2025-ceasefire-6000-have-returned/"
    ],
    "unfpa": [
      "UNFPA · updated 11 Sep 2026",
      "https://www.unfpa.org/occupied-palestinian-territory"
    ],
    "maternal": [
      "OCHA / MoH reproductive health dashboard · 23 Jul 2026",
      "https://www.ochaopt.org/content/humanitarian-situation-report-23-july-2026"
    ],
    "study": [
      "Maternal and neonatal outcomes · WHO Bulletin cohort study",
      "https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC13223687/"
    ],
    "prisoners": [
      "Addameer · beginning of Sep 2026",
      "https://www.addameer.ps/news/5746"
    ],
    "wait": [
      "OCHA / Health Cluster · 18 Feb 2026 snapshot",
      "https://www.ochaopt.org/sites/default/files/Gaza_Reported_Impact_Snapshot_18_February_2026_0.pdf"
    ]
  },
  "comparisons": [
    {
      "section": "toll",
      "title": "Palestinians reported killed",
      "total": [
        "73,821",
        "7 Oct 2023–17 Sep 2026"
      ],
      "since": [
        "1,386",
        "October 2025 ceasefire–17 Sep 2026"
      ],
      "sources": [
        "moh"
      ],
      "note": "Reported deaths, not an estimate of all direct and indirect mortality. People remain missing under rubble."
    },
    {
      "section": "toll",
      "title": "Palestinians reported injured",
      "total": [
        "174,897",
        "7 Oct 2023–17 Sep 2026"
      ],
      "since": [
        "4,784",
        "October 2025 ceasefire–17 Sep 2026"
      ],
      "sources": [
        "moh"
      ],
      "note": ""
    },
    {
      "section": "toll",
      "title": "Children reported killed",
      "total": [
        "21,700+",
        "Through 30 Jun 2026"
      ],
      "since": [
        "300+",
        "Through 6 Aug 2026"
      ],
      "sources": [
        "appeal",
        "children"
      ],
      "note": "Children are included in the overall toll. These child figures have earlier cut-off dates."
    },
    {
      "section": "health",
      "title": "Explosive ordnance deaths",
      "total": [
        "283",
        "Oct 2023–30 Aug 2026"
      ],
      "since": [
        "Not separately reported",
        "No comparable figure verified"
      ],
      "sources": [
        "ocha4"
      ],
      "note": "Recorded ordnance incidents; do not add these deaths to the headline toll."
    },
    {
      "section": "health",
      "title": "Explosive ordnance injuries",
      "total": [
        "1,209",
        "Oct 2023–30 Aug 2026"
      ],
      "since": [
        "Not separately reported",
        "No comparable figure verified"
      ],
      "sources": [
        "ocha4"
      ],
      "note": ""
    },
    {
      "section": "health",
      "title": "Explosive ordnance incidents",
      "total": [
        "625",
        "Oct 2023–30 Aug 2026"
      ],
      "since": [
        "Not separately reported",
        "No comparable figure verified"
      ],
      "sources": [
        "ocha4"
      ],
      "note": ""
    },
    {
      "section": "health",
      "title": "Newly acquired disabilities",
      "total": [
        "33,000",
        "Since Oct 2023 · reported Aug 2025"
      ],
      "since": [
        "853",
        "WHO Feb–Mar 2026 report"
      ],
      "sources": [
        "disability",
        "who"
      ],
      "note": "The ceasefire figure includes 496 amputations, 186 spinal cord injuries and 171 traumatic brain injuries."
    },
    {
      "section": "movement",
      "title": "Patients medically evacuated",
      "total": [
        "12,913",
        "Since Oct 2023 · reported 11 Aug 2026"
      ],
      "since": [
        "3,072",
        "10 Oct 2025–8 Sep 2026"
      ],
      "sources": [
        "evac",
        "snapshot"
      ],
      "note": ""
    },
    {
      "section": "movement",
      "title": "Children medically evacuated",
      "total": [
        "6,186",
        "Since Oct 2023 · reported 11 Aug 2026"
      ],
      "since": [
        "Not separately reported",
        "No comparable figure verified"
      ],
      "sources": [
        "evac"
      ],
      "note": ""
    },
    {
      "section": "movement",
      "title": "People who left Gaza",
      "total": [
        "150,000",
        "Oct 2023–May 2024"
      ],
      "since": [
        "About 10,500",
        "Since ceasefire · reported 10 Sep 2026"
      ],
      "sources": [
        "departures",
        "return"
      ],
      "note": "Includes medical and non-medical departures. This is broader than the patient tally."
    },
    {
      "section": "movement",
      "title": "People who returned to Gaza",
      "total": [
        "6,000+",
        ""
      ],
      "since": [
        "About 6,000",
        "Since ceasefire · reported 10 Sep 2026"
      ],
      "sources": [
        "return"
      ],
      "note": "This excludes displacement and return within Gaza."
    }
  ],
  "indicators": [
    {
      "section": "health",
      "title": "Potentially life-changing injuries",
      "value": "43,000+",
      "period": "Cumulative estimate · May 2026",
      "sources": [
        "snapshot"
      ],
      "note": "People requiring long-term rehabilitation; overlaps with newly acquired disabilities."
    },
    {
      "section": "health",
      "title": "Health facilities functioning",
      "value": "308 / 663",
      "period": "9 Sep 2026",
      "sources": [
        "snapshot"
      ],
      "note": "39 fully and 269 partially functioning; 355 non-functioning."
    },
    {
      "section": "movement",
      "title": "Patients awaiting evacuation",
      "value": "18,500+",
      "period": "Earlier estimate · 18 Feb 2026",
      "sources": [
        "wait"
      ],
      "note": "Includes 4,000 children."
    },
    {
      "section": "movement",
      "title": "People awaiting return",
      "value": "115,000",
      "period": "",
      "sources": [],
      "note": ""
    },
    {
      "section": "maternal",
      "title": "Pregnant women in Gaza",
      "value": "About 50,000",
      "period": "UNFPA estimate · updated 11 Sep 2026",
      "sources": [
        "unfpa"
      ],
      "note": ""
    },
    {
      "section": "maternal",
      "title": "Births each day",
      "value": "Up to 180",
      "period": "UNFPA estimate · updated 11 Sep 2026",
      "sources": [
        "unfpa"
      ],
      "note": "Daily volume, not a birth rate per 1,000 population or a cumulative birth tally."
    },
    {
      "section": "maternal",
      "title": "Reported miscarriages",
      "value": "3,950+",
      "period": "Jan–Jun 2026",
      "sources": [
        "maternal"
      ],
      "note": "208.5 per 1,000 live births recorded. This denominator is live births, not all pregnancies."
    },
    {
      "section": "maternal",
      "title": "Severe maternal complications",
      "value": "82 / 1,000",
      "period": "Per 1,000 deliveries · Jan–Jun 2026",
      "sources": [
        "maternal"
      ],
      "note": "Maternal morbidity: serious illness or complications, not a maternal death rate."
    },
    {
      "section": "maternal",
      "title": "Pregnant women with anaemia",
      "value": "57.1%",
      "period": "Jan–Jun 2026",
      "sources": [
        "maternal"
      ],
      "note": ""
    },
    {
      "section": "maternal",
      "title": "Caesarean deliveries",
      "value": "49.2%",
      "period": "Of deliveries · Jan–Jun 2026",
      "sources": [
        "maternal"
      ],
      "note": "Largely emergency procedures, according to the reporting source."
    },
    {
      "section": "maternal",
      "title": "Change in recorded deliveries",
      "value": "−3.2%",
      "period": "First half 2026 vs first half 2025",
      "sources": [
        "maternal"
      ],
      "note": ""
    },
    {
      "section": "nutrition",
      "title": "Crisis-level hunger or worse",
      "value": "1.4 million+",
      "period": "IPC projection · Jul–Dec 2026",
      "sources": [
        "snapshot"
      ],
      "note": "67% of the population."
    },
    {
      "section": "nutrition",
      "title": "Children admitted for malnutrition",
      "value": "About 3,000",
      "period": "Ages 6–59 months · Jul 2026",
      "sources": [
        "snapshot"
      ],
      "note": "Over 380 severe cases."
    },
    {
      "section": "nutrition",
      "title": "Acute maternal malnutrition",
      "value": "7.2%",
      "period": "Pregnant / breastfeeding women · 2026 SMART survey",
      "sources": [
        "snapshot"
      ],
      "note": ""
    },
    {
      "section": "nutrition",
      "title": "Child stunting",
      "value": "12.2%",
      "period": "Children under five · 2026 SMART survey",
      "sources": [
        "snapshot"
      ],
      "note": ""
    },
    {
      "section": "living",
      "title": "People needing shelter assistance",
      "value": "1.98 million",
      "period": "June 2026 assessment · published Aug 2026",
      "sources": [
        "snapshot"
      ],
      "note": "94% of the population; this measures assistance needs, not a cumulative displacement count."
    },
    {
      "section": "living",
      "title": "Damaged or destroyed structures",
      "value": "82%",
      "period": "UNOSAT assessment · 16 Jun 2026",
      "sources": [
        "snapshot"
      ],
      "note": ""
    },
    {
      "section": "living",
      "title": "Children without sustained formal schooling",
      "value": "637,475",
      "period": "OCHA / Education Cluster · 9 Sep 2026",
      "sources": [
        "snapshot"
      ],
      "note": ""
    },
    {
      "section": "living",
      "title": "Households facing water insecurity",
      "value": "91%",
      "period": "Assessed households · 5–12 Aug 2026",
      "sources": [
        "snapshot"
      ],
      "note": ""
    },
    {
      "section": "living",
      "title": "Wastewater treatment plants operating",
      "value": "0 / 6",
      "period": "OCHA · 4 Sep 2026 report",
      "sources": [
        "ocha4"
      ],
      "note": ""
    },
    {
      "section": "detention",
      "title": "Palestinians held in Israeli prisons",
      "value": "About 9,350",
      "period": "Point-in-time count · start of Sep 2026",
      "sources": [
        "prisoners"
      ],
      "note": "All Palestinian territories, not Gaza alone; not cumulative arrests since October 2023."
    },
    {
      "section": "detention",
      "title": "Administrative detainees",
      "value": "3,176",
      "period": "Point-in-time count · start of Sep 2026",
      "sources": [
        "prisoners"
      ],
      "note": "Detention without charge or trial."
    },
    {
      "section": "detention",
      "title": "Children in detention",
      "value": "350+",
      "period": "Point-in-time count · start of Sep 2026",
      "sources": [
        "prisoners"
      ],
      "note": ""
    },
    {
      "section": "detention",
      "title": "Held under “unlawful combatants” law",
      "value": "1,393",
      "period": "Point-in-time count · start of Sep 2026",
      "sources": [
        "prisoners"
      ],
      "note": "Predominantly people from Gaza."
    }
  ]
}